Letter from the President

Posted: October 4, 2016 by saacua in News

Letter from the President

I am excited to be part of the SAA Student Chapter leadership team this year! As way of introduction, here is a little information about me and my interests:

Graduate Library Preprofessional

katie-santa-ana-2

Putting up a small exhibit on Mother Teresa using archival materials.

As part of the Graduate Library Preprofessional (GLP) program, I work full time in the Archives here at CUA while pursuing my degree part time. This has been an amazing opportunity to get experience and on the job training! So far I have been able to…


State Department Virtual Internship

I also have recently started a “Virtual Student Foreign Service” internship, which is organized through the State Department. In my role, I will be assisting the Collections & Preservation Directorate of the American Battle Monuments Commission (ABMC) by compiling material for online exhibits built in eMuseum, the web component of their collection management software, The Museum System.

Archivists of Metro DC

This summer, I joined the volunteer organization Archivists of Metro DC (AMDC) on two occasions to help organize the archives of SOME (So Others Might Eat). SOME has been providing meals and many other services to the needy of Washington D.C. since 1970, so it was really meaningful to use our archival skills to rehousing their photograph collection. If you are looking for ways to give back, I would definitely suggest checking out both AMDC and SOME!

That’s a bit about me and what I’ve been up to! Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me if you have any questions or want to know more about any of these opportunities I’ve participated in.

Katie Santa Ana
01santaana@cua.edu
SAA Student Chapter President

Leave a Reply

